Live: UP votes for sixth phase, India abstains on UN Ukraine resolution


Live news updates: Uttar Pradesh will on Thursday vote for the sixth phase of Assembly elections, picking candidates for 57 seats spread across 10 districts in the state’s Purvanchal region.


The sixth phase has 676 candidates including Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Samajwadi Party leader Swami Prasad Maurya, state Congress chief Ajay Kumar Lallu and Leader of Opposition in the state assembly Ram Govind Chaudhary..

India on Wednesday abstained on a UN General Assembly resolution that deplored Russia’s aggression against Ukraine, the third such abstention in less than a week by New Delhi on the crisis.

The 193-member General Assembly Wednesday voted to reaffirm its commitment to the sovereignty, independence, unity and territorial integrity of within its internationally recognized borders and “deplores in the strongest terms” Russia’s aggression against Ukraine, PTI reported.


Source link

See also  Apple reaches 60% sales share mark for first time since 2017